Blanton/Reece Log Cabin

Dated to 1821, the structure is considered to be Haywood County’s oldest log cabin. The cabin’s full-dovetail corner mortise is a rare architectural feature of this English-style single-unit with shed addition. This 360 square foot cabin was home to ten members of the Vess and Talitha Reece family from 1925-2001.Book 5 of Legends, Tales & History of Cold Mountain recounts vivid details about the Reece family as captured from the memory of Reece descendants. Speculation about the Blanton heritage is outlined in Book 6 of the Legends series.

Mann Century Farm

A Century Farm site established in 1894 by J. Frank and Sallie Mann in North Hominy Community in Canton continues today as a barn and wedding venue.Book 5 of Legends, Tales & History of Cold Mountain presents a fascinating history of the farm, the family, and other outbuildings on the property.

Mast General Store

Originally housing The Toggery, a clothing store, Mast General took over operation of the 1930s facility in 1991 to complement other historic locations in the historic Mast chain of stores. The histories of the Toggery, the Massie/Way family who started the store, Mast General Store, and country stores in general is presented in Book 5 of Legends, Tales & History of Cold Mountain.





Bethel Cemetery

The 1854 cemetery reveals a panoramic view of Bethel Community. This burial ground is the location of the gravesite of Inman of Cold Mountain fame as well as of other historic figures from Bethel Community’s past. Visitors with the Cold Mountain Heritage Tour learn the long-secret place of Inman’s grave location as well as the haunting details of his demise on Big Stomp Mountain and subsequent burial by his father. Books 1 and 5 of Legends, Tales & History of Cold Mountain relays the history.

Inman Chapel and Cemetary

The 1902 chapel is the oldest Universalist Church in the state west of Durham. This modest white church was built by Cold Mountain Inman’s brother, James Anderson Inman. The congregation was responsible for initiating many of Haywood County’s first social programs. After an impressive restoration, the chapel recently received North Carolina Department of Transportation and Cultural Resources historic marker designation for the many unique programs conducted at the church by Minister Hannah Jewett Powell. In the accompanying cemetery dwell the remains of Inman family members, including the grandparents of Charles Frazier, author of Cold Mountain. All six books of Legends, Tales &History of Cold Mountain feature information about Inman Chapel and the Inman family.

Hoey-Smathers House

The 1929 structure was built by the son of North Carolina’s Governor, Clyde Roark Hoey, and was subsequently occupied by a Champion Paper & Fiber supervisor and his school teacher wife. Both couples reared their families in this modified Federalist/Georgian style house in Canton. Details of construction and families are outlined in Book 5 of Legends, Tales & History of Cold Mountain.
The home features a blend of federalist and neo-classical architectural styles. The Hoey family was meticulous about every feature of the dwelling since fifty pages of blueprints and builder’s notations specified minute elements of design and detail. Current owners Gail and Doug Mull have followed the decorative style of the Fleetwood-Smathers family, who lived in the house for thirty-five years, by filling every square inch with antiques, numerous collections, and unique whimsical decorative touches.

Bethel Presbyterian Church

The Reverend Jesse Stalcup, Baptist minister and millwright, built the building in 1885 as the first Presbyterian Church in Haywood County. The church is Bethel Rural Community Organization’s home base. Floor to ceiling chestnut interior in the sanctuary provides a dramatic backdrop for learning about the history of Presbyterianism in Western North Carolina. Books 1 and 5 of Legends, Tales & History of Cold Mountain inform about the church’s unique past.

Way House

This house was built around one of Waynesville’s historic main street houses. The Victorian Romanesque-style three-story house also included the medical offices of one of Haywood County’s prominent early medical practitioners in an adjacent extension. The widow’s walk on top distinguishes the building architecturally. Way family documentation, as well as architectural and decorative features of the house, is discussed in Book 5 of Legends, Tales & History of Cold Mountain.

Greenhill Cemetery

This historic Waynesville cemetery began as a home to the 1809 Green Hill Academy and simultaneously served as a cemetery location as early as 1779. Veterans of the Civil War, World War I, World War II, Korean War, and the Vietnam War rest forever on these grounds. Waynesville’s founding families and those who played a significant role in Haywood County history are buried here also. Book 5 of Legends, Tales & History of Cold Mountain gives a comprehensive account of the history of the cemetery and identifies unique grave markers.

Masonic Lodge # 259

Gateway Club

This National Register designated Masonic Temple was built in 1927. The Neo-Classical Revival designed structure is Waynesville’s tallest building with the city’s only historic elevator. Today the building houses the Gateway Club that features 3 stories of hospitality suites including first floor restaurant named Anthony Wayne’s, as well as a third floor ballroom. Masonic history and subsequent uses by other owners is detailed in Book 5 of Legends, Tales & History of Cold Mountain.

Captain James Allen and Nancy Louisa Cathey Blaylock House

Surrounding an 1835 cabin, the combination Queen Anne/Italianate house was begun in 1868 and completed by 1890 for the Civil War captain, his wife, and family. The building housed five generations of the Blaylock family. Stories of buried treasure, a murder, and ghostly voices are detailed in Book 2 of Legends, Tales & History of Cold Mountain.Current owners have finished the third floor, and the many antiques make the Blaylock House an intriguing place to visit.

Shook-Smathers House Museum

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the house is the oldest remaining house west of the Blue Ridge with ties to the beginnings of Methodism in America. The house is currently owned by Haywood County Historical & Genealogical Society and is open for tours in the summer by appointment. To learn about the families connected to the house as well as about the building itself from the beginnings of Haywood County history, consult Book 4 of Legends, Tales & History of Cold Mountain.

Truss Bridge #79

The bridge is North Carolina’s oldest truss bridge still in use and the state’s only decorative truss bridge. This 1891 structure was moved to its present site in 1925 by members of Bethel Community. BRCO has been an important instrument in saving this bridge from destruction and in documenting its history. The bridge’s singular design and construction make it a significant structure locally, statewide, and nationally. To learn about the bridge, consult Books 1 and 6 of Legends, Tales & History of Cold Mountain.

Francis Mill

The 1887 mill, built by William Francis, is Haywood County’s last surviving original grist mill. The facility has been restored and is seeking National Register of Historic Places designation. William Francis came from Tennessee and received one square mile of land on which the mill is situated as a wedding gift from his father-in-law. In 1914, William’s son Monteville Pinkney Francis took over operation, and his son Dewey continued the milling operation until 1976. The several year restoration process by current owner, Tanna Timbes and the Francis Mill Preservation Society, resulted in a working mill by 2008. The mill serves as an educational site, reminding visitors of the rural roots of what some historians consider to be the first industry in the mountains and one of the oldest professions in the world. Books 1 and 4 of Legends, Tales & History of Cold Mountain discuss milling, mills, and Francis Mill.

Sulphur Springs Park and
the Site of Last Shot of the Civil War East of the Mississippi

The park is the former location of White Sulphur Springs Hotel, a famous travel destination from Waynesville’s past. The land is also the location of the last shot of the Civil War fired east of the Mississippi. The nearby Last Shot Monument, owned by the North Carolina Division of the United Daughters of the Confederacy (DAC), was dedicated in 1923. The history of the hotel and the battle, as well as details about the celebration of the dedication of the Last Shot Monument, is featured in Book 4 of Legends, Tales & History of Cold Mountain.

White Sulphur Springs Park

Thousands of years prior to the Civil War, Native Americans discovered the healing and purgative powers of the mineral water in what would become Waynesville. These waters were rediscovered by Colonel Robert Love’s slave near his house at White Sulphur Springs (near the same location as the last shot of the Civil War east of the Mississippi would be fired). Colonel Love was the founder of Waynesville, North Carolina. In the location of the springs stood an elegant house, owned by Robert Love’s son, James Robert Love. James Robert Love’s home was a luxurious plantation-style home built before 1830. This Greek revival two-story house was expanded greatly by 1878 to become Waynesville’s first grand hotel: The White Sulphur Springs Hotel. Prompted by the healing mineral springs located on the premises, owner Colonel William Stringfield (key player in Thomas’ Legion and the last shot scenario), his wife Maria, and their son-in-law Benjamin Sloan, ran the establishment at which visitors could drink and bathe in the waters in order to experience healing of a number of ailments such as neuralgia, rheumatism, skin disorders, and lack of energy. The hotel catered to wealthy patrons who would come to Haywood County via train. The original hotel burned, and a larger, grander structure replaced it, and an additional annex was added in 1900. Extravagant gala affairs occurred regularly at the hotel. Haywood County’s first telephone and also her first encounter with electricity occurred at the White Sulphur Springs Hotel
During World War I the hotel was converted into a hospital for ailing soldiers who had contracted tuberculosis as well as veterans who had been gassed or wounded. After World War I ended, owners tried to restore the hotel to its original grandeur. Its luster was gone, however, and the hotel was dismantled in 1941. The only remaining structure associated with the once famous building is the Victorian style springhouse that stands approximately three hundred feet north of where the hotel was situated.

Shelton House Museum of North Carolina Handicrafts

The 1875 National Register house was built by Stephen Jehu and Mahala Conley Shelton, High Sheriff of Haywood County. The home was next owned by Navajo Indian Superintendent, Will Taylor Shelton and his wife Hattie. In 1977, the board of the Museum of North Carolina Handicrafts purchased the building. Hand crafted items from all over North Carolina are displayed in the facility. Museum tours are available Tuesday

Saturday, May

October. The history of the house and family are relayed in Book 4 of Legends, Tales & History of Cold Mountain.

Smathers-Gautier House

This 1895 house is considered to be the best example of Queen Anne style Victorian architecture in Haywood County. The house was built by George Henry Smathers, best known as Special Assistant United States Attorney for the Eastern Band of the Cherokee Indians, and his wife Daisy. Book 4 of Legends, Tales & History of Cold Mountain features both architectural and personal historical elements about the house’s inhabitants

Joseph Turner & Martha Anna Iva Killian Cathey House

Built in 1860, the Greek-Revival style house is considered to be Bethel’s oldest remaining frame house; fifth generation Cathey family members still inhabit the house. Joseph Turner Cathey and his wife completed the front portion of the structure prior to his untimely death in the Civil War. The widow completed the back portion of the house on her own. A number of ghostly tales provide uncomfortable entertainment while historic documentation reveals interesting facts about the house and family in Books 1, 2,3, 4, 5, and 6 of Legends, Tales & History of Cold Mountain.

Cruso School

This 1928 rock school house has been preserved in its original 7- grade classroom design. Today the building serves as the community club for Cruso Community. The school building houses a mini-library, craft co-op, and a thrift shop. Cruso Quilting Club holds quilting classes and demonstrations, and the walls are decorated with the group’s many artistic quilts. The school and the history of schools in Bethel Community are outlined in Book 3 of Legends, Tales & History of Cold Mountain.

Joshua and Adeline Kinsland House

One of Bethel’s oldest farm houses, dating to the Civil War era, this Greek Revival, two-story structure’s 2nd floor remains untouched from its original construction with wide boards on floors and walls. Julianne Kuykendall’s family history and Jennifer Cathey’s restoration analysis in Book 6 of Legends, Tales & History of Cold Mountain provide data about the house and the family who inhabited it.

Lenoir’s Creek Devon Farm

This 1807 farm is one of Haywood County’s oldest land grants and is also the county’s longest continuing farm with the longest continuing herd of cattle

since 1849. The land was. home of former North Carolina State Representative, Thomas Lenoir, and his son, Captain Thomas Isaac Lenoir, a Civil War captain of Company F, 25th NC Infantry Regiment, known as the Highlanders. Family member Emily Terrell gives factual history of the farm and the family while descendant Dr. Mary Michal’s charming recounting of her growing-up-years on the farm in Book 3 of Legends, Tales & History of ColdMountain provide interesting details about the farm’s history. Book 6 of the Legends series includes a letter about the Red Devon Cattle that have played such a role in the farm’s history.

Loralei Inn

The Bed and Breakfast, while not technically a historic site, is beautifully designed to resemble an ante-bellum mansion with massive columns and balconies. Each stunning room in the house tells an interesting story. Loralei, owned by Judy Jones, features the best view of Cold Mountain in Bethel.

Osborne Boundary Oak

The black oak tree served as an historic boundary marker in 1792 when Jonathan Osborne purchased a six-hundred acre tract of land. The tree was living earlier when Native tribes inhabited the area prior to the Osborne settlement. In 1776, General Griffith Rutherford’s troops marched against the Cherokee, and this Rutherford Trace march of 2,000 troops edged a path by this tree. During the 1900s, one of the state’s finest dairy farms, Osborne Farm, sat adjacent to the tree. BRCO and community members have saved the tree from destruction, documented its history, educated the public about its unique history, installed the first BRCO historic marker at its base, and are helping to maintain its health. The local Daughters of the American Revolution (DAR) chapter has joined BRCO in efforts to preserve this historic tree. The history of the tree is in Book 6 of Legends, Tales & History of Cold Mountain.

Pingree Priestly & Charity Haseltine Osborne Plott House

Built in 1887 by descendants of two of Haywood County’s founding families. This Victorian style L-shaped house is noted for its unique architectural features and its original blue windows that provided protective light for family members who suffered from tuberculosis. Book 1 of Legends, Tales & History of Cold Mountain focuses on the architecture and family information.

Riverhouse Acres

Originally inhabited by Native people of the area, this lovely property is the location of the Forks of the Pigeon River. Part of an original land grant owned by William Cathey, the site became the historic location of camp meetings after which Bethel, meaning House of God, was named. History of Riverhouse Acres is included in Book 1 of Legends, Tales & History of Cold Mountain.

Julius Marion and Leila Vance Welch House

Probably Haywood County’s only cruciform (cross-shaped) house was built in 1908 by descendants of two of Haywood County’s founding families. Builder was the Reverend Jesse Stalcup who also built Bethel Presbyterian Church, the old Bethel Baptist Church, and the Captain James Allen and Nancy Cathey Blaylock House. Renovations have obscured the cruciform design of the house. For a discussion of the unique house design as well as the family who built it, see Book 2 of Legends, Tales & History of Cold Mountain.

Web Design © 2010-14 gfgraphics - Waynesville NC